2012.09.03

Vertical awnings – protection of terraces and gazebos from the snow, wind and rain

In this review we will tell you about vertical awnings that quickly gain popularity thanks to a great number of tasks that they fulfill. Sometimes these multi-functional constructions are installed on windows, but more often they are used on the territories of countryside areas, cottages on gazebos, loggias, terraces.

Their main purpose is protection from snow, wind, rain, and sun. However, they are made in different variants; now we will see different types of vertical awnings, and functions that they can realize.

So, two main types of vertical awnings are open awnings and cassette awnings.

  • Open awnings (Fig. 1.) resemble roller shades made for outdoors. The fabric in them moves along vertical guiding aluminium wires, and when you close the awning, the fabric roll up on the roller tube. In the bottom side, a ballast is sewn into the fabric.
  • Cassette models (Fig. 2.) work according to the similar principle, but they have an important speciality, that is impermeability. The roller tube with fabric is covered with a metal protective cassette; besides, the fabric moves along U-shape metal guides.

Look at the difference between these construction on the picture:

Fig. 1. Vertical awnings of open type Calypso Wind

Fig. 2.Vertical awning of cassette type Tango Pro

What type to choose? It depends on your demands to the functionality of the awning. If you plan to use it on a terrace or a gazebo as protection from snow, wind, nosy glances, open type is enough. Open vertical awnings are durable, simple in operating; they will stand even the most severe weather conditions. However, due to the fact that wires are used as guides, wind protection won’t be impermeable. So, if you want to use vertical awnings to equip a gazebo where your children can play even in winter time, where you can spend time with your family and friends even in frost, and where neither wind nor snow can penetrate, cassette models will be the best choice.

We should note that cassette models are more expensive than the open ones, sometimes their price differ several times; it is explained with different constructions and objectively wider functionality and longevity of cassette models.
Now, let’s look on the materials for vertical awnings. They are made in three main variants:

From non-transparent awning fabric (Frig. 3.1., Fig. 3.2.). This is a perfect universal variant. Awning fabric dralon is not afraid of frosts, is offered in different colours; an awning of this fabric will protect you from foul weather and neighbours’ glances all year round.

Fig. 3.1. Vertical awning of open type Calypso WindFirg. 3.2. Vertical awning of cassette type Tango

With a transparent PVC insert (Fig. 4.1., Fig. 4.2.). Non-transparent awning fabrics do not always fit vertical awnings; our customers often want the awning to work as a window, when closed: it should protect from wind or snow, but at the same time it should be transparent, and there should be light in the gazebo or on a terrace. In these cases, the awnings are made with a transparent insert from thick PVC. However, this material can hardly stand Russian frosts. So, if you want to use this awning in winter time, the best way will be to open it for winter and keep open till the temperature rises to +5C° or higher. When it is frost, PVC shrinks and crumbles if you open and close the awning.

Frig. 4.1. Vertical awning of open type Calypso WindFig. 4.2. Vertical awning of cassette type Tango Pro

And one more interesting variant, an awning from Soltis fabric (Fig. 5.1., Fig. 5.2.). This perforated material is an excellent solution; we always recommend to pay attention to it, especially if you are going to use your construction mostly in summer time. Characteristics of the material make it irreplaceable for our instable weather. It swallows heat, protects from rain, bright sun, wind, and curious looks; at the same time, its micro-holes omit light and air. Behind this kind of awning, it will be cool and not stuffy on a hot summer day on your porch, and rain and wind won’t penetrate your terrace on a rainy night.

Fig. 5.1. Vertical awning of open type Calypso Wind

Fig. 5.2. Vertical awning of cassette type Tango Pro

One more parameter that is always up to the customer is the operating type. Like other awnings, vertical ones can be made with manual operating or electric gear. You can read more about operation types here.

In conclusion we note that sometimes side awnings are called “vertical”, though they stand separately and fulfill other functions. As a matter of fact, they are technological outdoor screens; we will tell about them more detailly in one of further articles.

2016.10.17

Обзор продукции Markiza.ru — вертикальные маркизы и их различия

В данном обзоре мы расскажем об особенностях вертикальных маркиз, которые отличаются функциональностью и пользуются все возрастающей популярностью. Конструкции могут устанавливаться на окна, но преимущественно их монтируют в беседках, на террасах и лоджиях загородных домов и коттеджей.
Главное назначение изделий – эффективная защита от солнца, дождя, ветра и снега. Производители выпускают модели разных конструкций, на особенностях каждой из них мы остановимся подробнее.
Основными типами вертикальных маркиз являются открытые и кассетные системы.

  • Открытые (рис. 1) – внешним видом напоминают рулонные шторы для уличного использования. Текстильное полотно движется по вертикальным направляющим – тросикам из алюминия. При складывании маркизы ткань наматывается на барабан. В нижнюю часть полотна вшит отвес.
  • Кассетные (рис. 2) – складываются и раскладываются по схожему принципу, при этом отличаются герметичностью. Вал, на который наматывается ткань, закрыт защитной кассетой из металла. Полотно движется по П-образным металлическим направляющим.

На фото можно ознакомиться с отличиями конструкций:

Рис. 1. Вертикальные маркизы открытого типа Calypso Wind

Рис. 2. Вертикальная маркиза кассетного типа Tango Pro

Какой тип выбрать?

Все зависит от предпочтений по функциональности модели. Если планируется эксплуатация на террасе либо в беседке в качестве защиты от дождя, снега и посторонних взглядов, можно остановить выбор на конструкции открытого типа. Это надежные и простые в управлении системы, которые выдерживают самые агрессивные погодные условия. Направляющими в таких конструкциях выступают тросики, поэтому нельзя ожидать герметичной защиты от ветра. Тем, кто желает оборудовать беседку вертикальными жалюзи для полной изоляции от ветра и снега, лучше выбирать среди кассетных моделей. Такие изделия дороже открытых, но они характеризуются большей функциональностью, надежностью и долговечностью.

Предлагаем подробнее остановиться на материалах, используемых для вертикальных маркиз. Изделия производятся в трех вариантах.
Из непрозрачного текстильного полотна (рис. 3.1, рис 3.2). Это универсальное решение. Дралон – маркизная ткань, которая не боится низких температур, выпускается в разных цветах. Изделие обеспечит надежную защиту от непогоды и внимания соседей.

Рис. 3.1. Вертикальная маркиза открытого типа Calypso WindРис. 3.2. Вертикальная маркиза кассетного типа Tango

С прозрачной вставкой из пленки ПВХ (рис. 4.1, рис. 4.2). Такая маркиза в закрытом виде используется как окно – защищает от снега и ветра. Благодаря наличию прозрачного фрагмента, на террасе или в беседке будет светло. Стоит учитывать, что ПВХ плохо переносит пониженные температуры, поэтому зимой изделие лучше держать в открытом виде. Закрывать маркизу можно при температуре выше +5ºС. В противном случае на морозе пластик сжимается и трескается.

Рис. 4.1. Вертикальная маркиза открытого типа Calypso WindРис. 4.2. Вертикальная маркиза кассетного типа Tango Pro

Предлагаем вам интересное решение – маркиза с текстильным полотном Soltis (рис. 5.1, рис. 5.2). Если конструкцию планируется использовать преимущественно летом, перфорированный материал станет отличным решением. Изделие обладает характеристиками, позволяющими с успехом эксплуатировать маркизу в условиях переменчивой погоды. Такая конструкция надежно защитит от дождя, ветра и яркого солнца, она эффективно поглощает тепло. Нанесенные на полотно микроотверстия пропускают воздух и естественное освещение. В жаркое время за таким укрытием будет прохладно, а в дождливый день терраса будет надежно защищена от ветра и влаги.

Рис. 5.1. Вертикальная маркиза открытого типа Calypso Wind

Рис. 5.2. Вертикальная маркиза кассетного типа Tango Pro

Такой параметр конструкции, как тип управления, подбирается, в зависимости от предпочтений заказчика. Вертикальные маркизы изготавливаются с ручным и электронным управлением. Для подробного ознакомления с типами можно почитать здесь.
«Вертикальными» могут ошибочно называть боковые маркизы, однако это отдельный вид конструкций, выполняющий иные функции. Они представляют собой ширмы для улицы.